I Know That I Know That I Know

Hello friends,

Much has been on my mind lately, and I want to share a bit of it with you. I hope it forms into something that brings glory to the Lord.

My mind has been chewing on the word “favor” for a while now. The Christian culture likes to throw it around for things like good parking spots, cheap tickets, and job promotions. Every time I hear the word, I feel a quickening and my spirit checking out the situation.  I know we have the favor of God in our lives. I know God has great things/plans for us and puts us in strategic places. I also know we should not try to incorporate the favor God has for us into defining worldly goods or ideals.  This internal emotional journey I have been on with this idea of favor brought about a reflection of a time God spoke clearly to me.

It was in 2007 and the Betts family was enjoying a quiet evening at home.  Jason came into the living room and told me, “You need to read Mark chapter 5, I don’t know why, but God just told me to tell you to read this chapter.” I love God, Jason, and reading so I’m in, and I read the scripture.

If you are not familiar with this passage, it is about Jesus driving out demons from a possessed man.  The demons beg Jesus to drive put them in a herd of pigs in the area, and after He drives the demons into the pigs the pigs all go jump off a cliff and die.  (That is the gist. You will have to read Mark Chapter 5 for the full story.)

Back to 2007, I read this passage and I felt in my spirit God telling me that the demons died with the pigs. They were gone, never to come back. They were not going to bother this man again. I knew God was telling me that Jason was His for good. Jason would/will follow the Lord for the rest of his life. The demons are gone, and he will not be pulled away from God again.

Jason looked at me and said “you got all that from this passage?”  Yes, yes I did. It was very clear to me and I know that I know that I know this is what the Lord said.

In the last seven years, we have been through some stuff. Some stuff that God knew was going to happen. Some stuff that would blow your mind, some stuff that a good imagination could not even make up, you know that kind of stuff.  Stuff that Jason needed to lead us through. Hello?!, we are living through stuff that he needs to lead us through. And, I always have this moment to fall back on and focus me. This moment when God spoke directly to my heart and assured me.

Yesterday, during some powerful worship in the truck, God spoke to me and showed me this moment we shared. He showed me that He directs us, He leads us, He loves us, He shares intimate  moments with us….Then it hit me. This is the true favor of God. The steady rock of truth that He is, and the intimate ways He loves us.

To sum it up. God gives us favor with sweet moments spent with Him, and clear knowledge to feel calm and peace when a storm may rage.  True favor brings glory to God.

With a personal testimony, that I am not sure I have shared before (or not with many), God gave me a revelation which pushed me forward into a personal spiritual break through.

Lots of words for “I learned something.” 🙂

I hope this blesses someone. Be strong in what you know God has told you.  Consider it favor to be in His presence.

Thank you Lord.

~Amanda

 

 

2 thoughts on “I Know That I Know That I Know

  1. Amen, learning everyday just how much God does favor us, His children! Might not look like it at times, but He is always working behind the scenes for us. We just have to praise Him in the valleys until He raises us up to stand on the mountain! Great Grandma Merriman always said to me, “Shayla, you should be learning something new everyday. Get your Bible out and start reading.” Little did I know that Grandma wasn’t senile, she knew Jesus and would talk with Him all the time. Sure miss her wisdom.

Leave a Reply

