Christmas Cheer!

    Christmas is coming up!  I absolutely love this time of the year! (well besides the Christmas music….that is another blog) Looking at all the lights and the town decorations. It is just beautiful! Christmas really brings the family together, too. It is so sad that we do not have Trevor here with us for Christmas this year. It will be hard as the years go on and we do not have all of our family there with us, but I know that we will have  friends and family where ever we are during Christmas.

One thing that I would have to say that I love about Christmas is the way that we celebrate it. Santa Claus has never been a big thing in this house. Also, we do not do Elf on the shelve( for those who do have one that is great and please don’t take this personal) All these people spoil their kids on Christmas day. I know I get presents too, but It is not about us! If we are so focused on Santa or this elf then why do we even celebrate Christmas? Why don’t we just have a big Santa and Elf celebration? But we don’t! Because, that is not what Christmas is about!

It is about CHRIST! We always do something for Jesus. One year all of us kids got a bunch of 5 dollar bills and we passed them out to people on the streets in Washington DC. It was great to be able to put a smile on a face. This experience taught me that it really is better to give than to receive. I really hope that when I become a parent I can make Christ their number one priority in their life. My parents have done such an amazing job making sure that I stay into the church. As I got older church didn’t even faze me. It was just what we did and when we missed it then something big was going on. My parents have showed me when I get angry at the world the Bible is the only thing that can make feel complete again. Anyways man that was a little off topic, but very true.

    I am so excited to go to Brazil and experience what their Christmas is like.The kids there have told me many stories! It will be very different, but no one said that different was bad! I think it will be good for me to know more than just what is going on the US; to see things in other people’s points of view. In Brazil they celebrate Christmas more on Christmas Eve. The way that it was explained to me was that they all get together and stay up all night. They talk and play games ALL night long. With that being said I am having some serious issues with that! haha I think I would rather sleep, but I guess I will be staying up all night!  Then, they eat a big meal at midnight! I am in for a treat!

Well guys this is all that I have to say at this moment. Love you all!

 

❤ Kenna

Leave a Reply

