Two Languages

      Learning two languages is crazy! <I am told this is very American of me> When I was in 8th grade I took Spanish one and two. I thought that was hard, and I never even spoke Spanish. This year, Mom added Portuguese into my schooling and I have it every other day. Also, I talk to many of the Brazilians at our church, MPC, and try my best with my Portuguese. They tell me I sound so cute when I speak their language. I don’t find it cute at all!

I get all worked up about speaking Portuguese to the Brazilians, and if it’s not perfect then it is wrong. I get so focused on sounding like them with their accent. I know after speaking it so much I will get it down. Also, being there with them and hearing them talk will help. It will soon become natural (I hope). At this moment, that is not what’s happening! When I talk to a friend from Brazil, my mind starts moving faster than my mouth or fingers and its like I created my own language! I also tend to say things in Portuguese the way we say it in English. For example, : como esta vocé? in English it translates to ” How are you? ” But, that is not the way they say it there. It’s a verb thing I think. haha! It is funny when me and mom are laughing about it, but when I am trying to speak a different language I DON’T THINK SO! I don’t want to go down there and have them laugh at my Portuguese. Makes me nervous.

On the bright side, I have already started to translate! I’m not sure why this makes me happy, but I love it! It is so much fun and it makes me feel like my Portuguese is really doing better than I think! Mom, Dad, and Elise study to, but they don’t do it as much. Talking to all of the Brazilians is really improving my languages! I am so blessed and I love teaching them English! They all want to learn it so bad. Back too what I was saying………….. Oh yes translating, Elise is always Skyping with Isabelle and they are teaching each other different words. They do so great! Elise tends to over think it and is like “uhhhhhh……. KENNA help”! I love it. I try my best to translate and it usually turns out well. My problem is they talk so fast! I usually get all but one or two words and I just have to think and see what words fit…. It’s like a fill in the blank.

Well that’s all for now. I’m sure there will be more soon!

 

❤ Kenna

Leave a Reply

