Relentless

images

Relentless…

This word washed over me again and again while we were in MPC church camp last February in Manaus, Brazil.  Just one word; relentless

.  I really felt God was giving me this word for this time at camp.  I shared this word with Pastora Hillary, and she shared it at the next service.  The only problem was that relentless doesn’t really translate to Portuguese very well.  While she could give them an idea of the word definition…well I think it lost something in translation.  

Relentless; I clung to it throughout camp and sought God relentlessly. Our time with our MPC family was amazing. God has opened my heart for these people and this region. God was pursuing me relentlessly.

God filled me with a love for Manaus. The world of concrete violently kissing the rain-forest in a city of about 2 million has captured my soul, and we are preparing the way to move there soon.  Our family will be entering the mission field. We are filled with joy to be serving the Lord in this way, but all of these road-blocks keep popping up. The most recent of which has been Jason’s kidney stones.  He is in great pain and has been totally out of commission for almost week now.

My world has slowed way down as I wait in Dr.’s offices, wait in surgery waiting area, wait around the house for him to need something, wait…and while I wait I think, think, think.

Here I am 9 months later doing all this thinking, and the word relentless is again washing over me.  I know Father God is speaking this word to me again. He has given us a mission. We have received clear word  and vision to join the mission field of Brazil. I will not give up on this, I will not believe this is an unbearable load. I will not lose hope or sight on what He has shown me. I will stand firm.

“Therefore, my dear brothers and sisters, stand firm. Let nothing move you. Always give yourselves fully to the work of the Lord, because you know that your labor in the Lord is not in vain.” 1 Corinthians 15:58 NIV

I will be relentless because He has plans for us.

 “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” Jeremiah 29:11

My final thoughts on this: the word relentless works both ways. God is relentless in His pursuit of us, and we should be relentless in our pursuit of Him.

I needed to get all this in writing.

Until next time,

Amanda

Leave a Reply

